Is The Uk Part Of The Schengen Agreement

Of the 27 EU Member States, 22 are participating in the Schengen area. Of the five EU Member States that are not part of the Schengen area, four – Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania – are legally required to join the territory in the future, while the other – Ireland – maintains an opt-out. The four member states of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, are not members of the EU, but have signed under the Schengen Agreement. Three European micro-states that are not members of the European Union, but which are enclaves or half-enclaves within an EU member state – Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City – are de facto part of the Schengen area. The Danish territories are not part of the European Union or the Schengen area, and visas for Denmark are not automatically valid in these regions. However, in both areas, there is no border control for arrivals from the Schengen area and air or sea carriers are responsible for carrying out pre-board document checks, as is the case for travel within the Schengen area. Citizens of EFTA countries can travel to faeces and Greenland with a passport or ID card, while citizens of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden can use any acceptable identification (for example. B driver`s licenses or bank cards that are not recommended, as planes could be diverted to Scotland in case of fog). [97] [98] Only the European territory of the Netherlands is part of the Schengen area. Six Dutch areas of the Caribbean are located outside the area. Three of these areas, Bonaire, Sint Eustache and Saba (known as BES Islands) – are special municipalities within the Netherlands.

The other three РAruba, Curaao and Sint Maarten Рare autonomous countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. All islands retain their status as overseas countries and territories and are therefore not part of the European Union. The six zones have a visa system separate from the European part of the Netherlands and people travelling between these islands and the Schengen area are subject to full border control, with a passport also required for EU and Schengen citizens, including Dutch (national identity cards are not accepted). [93] From 2015[update], Andorra, Monaco and San Marino negotiated an association agreement with the EU. Andorra`s ambassador to Spain, Jaume Gayt̩n, said he hoped the agreement would include provisions that would make states associated with the Schengen agreement. [114] While Bulgaria and Romania, which joined the EU on 1 January 2007, are also legally obliged to join the Schengen area, implementation has been delayed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.